Today Lynford Hall is an elegant hotel with 38 beautifully appointed bedrooms and versatile and tastefully decorated function rooms nestling in 28 acres of formal gardens with a lake and surrounded by acres of rich forest close to the village of Mundford.
Lynford Hall has a rich history dating back over 160 years and has passed through many owners and uses. During its rich history thousands of people will have attended all kinds of events from balls, banquets, weddings and social functions.
Keeping memories alive and celebrating Lynfords varied and sometimes colourful history, we have named our feature rooms after previous owners and regularly welcome visitors who have had a past connection with us enabling us to expand our knowledge of our heritage.
Lynford Hall was built for Mr and Mrs Lyne Stephens between 1856 and 1859. Mr Lyne Stephens died in 1860 but his widow lived at Lynford until her death in 1894. The Hall passed through a number of owners from the turn of the century until 1930 when it was purchased by the forestry commission and refurbished as a grace and favour residence for Sir James Calder.
During the second world war the Hall was used as an officer convalescent hospital. In 1945 it became a training college for foresters. The college closed in 1957 and the Hall's future was in doubt as many country mansions were being demolished at the time to avoid death duties. Lynford survived and was a motel and function venue throughout the 1960's although falling into disrepair at this time.
In 1971 it was purchased by Gerald Rand who continued to run it as a motel but also held weddings and other events whilst also using it as his private residence.
During this time several BBC TV shows were filmed on location at Lynford including "Allo Allo, Love on a Branch Line, You rang my Lord and Dads Army".
Mr Rand sold Lynford Hall in 1995 to the Organic Group who proposed major developments on the site and built the Lyne Stephens Banqueting Suite in 1997.
Organic group sold the hotel in 2005 to the current owners, since then substantial investment has been made, creating Norfolk's premier wedding and event venue.
On 7th September 2019, a Blue Plaque was unveiled by the British Comedy Society in our historic courtyard, where exteriors of Allo Allo’s Café Rene were ﬁlmed. The plaque celebrates and remembers the ‘great British comedy’ which ran from 1982 – 1992.
Lynford Hall still has strong links with the past but offers all the modern facilities needed by today's guests in an unspoilt environment.